Lentil Soup


Image

I’ve been craving for lentil soup since I don’t know when, weeks maybe? So I decided to make it, asked my mom for her recipe, and oh boy! it was delicious. I actually still have some, but I hide it in the freezer so the hubs wouldn’t see it! Hahaha, naaa, I’m kidding, of course not, but I thought about it. Really…. Anyways, Here’s the recipe for you.

Image

I used:

  • 1 lb (500g) dry lentils
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3.2 oz tomato puree
  • 1/4 onion, finely chopped
  • 2 plum tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, whole
  • 1/2 cup chopped carrots
  • 3 slices (1/4 cup) chopped Prosciutto, finely sliced

Wash and rinse the lentils. Place them to boil with 1Qt (1 L) water and the whole garlic clove for 45 minutes, covered. Add more water (so they won’t burn) every time you need to.

Image

Now, while they are boiling, place sliced Prosciutto and stir for around 2 minutes.

Image

Add onion and stir for 3 minutes.

Image

Chop carrots too.

Image

Add carrots and stir for around 3 minutes more.

Image

Now add tomatoes.

Image

Stir for around 5 minutes and season with salt and pepper.

Image

Stir and reserve.

Image

When boiling time (45 minutes) ends, uncover and let boil. Maybe, if you are like me, you’re still making the veggies mix. Now, place them in the boiling pot.

Image

 

Let it boil for another 5 minutes and they are ready!!

Image

This entry was posted in Good Eating, Light Food, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment