Caprese Soup


So, I’ve been wanting to make a tomato soup, with lots and lots of sweet tomatoes and lots and lots of beautiful mozzarella cheese =) so, I went for it, and OMG, I didn’t regret it all. I loved it. The hubs didn’t, but that’s something I know, because he said he did, but he hates chimichurri sauce and pesto. So, I know it didn’t drive him crazy, but still he eat a little. Anyways, if you like pesto, like I do, then you’ll love this soup. Give it a try =)

So, I used:

  • 1.5 Kg (3.3 oz) plum tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 small garlic cloves, peeled
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3/4 medium onion, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 2 cups chicken stock (I used homemade)
  • 1 French bread loaf, diagonally sliced
  • 5 tbsp basil pesto (wanted to use homemade, couldn’t find fresh basil)
  • 5-8 slices fresh Mozzarella cheese

Now, start by preheating your oven to 350°F and slice your tomatoes. Arrange them in a baking sheet along with the garlic cloves and drizzle with olive oil, season with salt and pepper.

Bake for 1 hour.

While tomatoes are baking, melt butter in a deep pot.

Add onion and caramelize, for around 10-15 minutes.

Add tomatoes and garlic (and all the delicious juices that come from there, all in theb aking sheet).

Add chicken stock.

And boil for 15 to 20 minutes.

While boiling, slice French bread loaf and boil for 10-15 minutes at 350°F…

until browned as you like it…

Now, remove soup from heat and with an immersion blender blend until everything is well mixed. If salt/pepper is missing, add more, but mine was perfect.

Start serving in individual bowls (ovenproof).

Top each one with one or 2 slices of toasted bread.

Now, grab your pesto and top each bread slice with 1 tbsp of pesto.

Now, grab the mozzarella cheese and top the rest of the soup with it.

Now, place the bowls in a baking sheet and broil them until cheese is melted, bubbly and browned.

And enjoy your soup!

Gaby & Julio

About Gaby Godoy de Porras

I'm a 27 years old housewife that loves to cook and try new recipes, as well as decor our home. I love to do makeovers to old furniture I get (my hubby loves it too!) and I get so excited when my ideas come true! I love to see other people's ideas come true too. I'm a total DIYer (I made almost every detail in my wedding).
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Caprese Soup

  1. momto8blog says:

    wow…just wow!! that looks and sounds fabulous!!

  2. This soup looks incredible!!

  3. Pawis says:

    hey!!! it looks incredible!!! i did a tomato cream but it was literally all tomato and some spicing….
    this recipe reminds me of the time we did that onion soup, also with a piece of bread and cheese, its so “easy” to do but for it to get perfect it is not!

Leave a Reply

