3 cheese mac & cheese


Image

So, last weekend the hubs and I bought many different cheeses and went to visit my parents and eat, eat, eat. Haha. So, still, we had many leftovers and I decided to use some of the ashed goat cheese to make some of the hubs’ favorite comfort meals: mac & cheese. And believe me, he LOVED it.

So, I used:

  • 1/4 medium onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream
  • 1 small garlic clove, finely chopped or minced
  • 4 oz goat cheese with ash (or w/o, don’t worry)
  • 8 oz + 2 oz sharp white cheddar cheese, shredded
  • 1.75 oz Parmigiano reggiano cheese, shredded
  • 1 tbsp flour
  • 1 tbsp cream
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 6-8 oz cooked penne pasta

Start by cooking your pasta al dente. I place water to boil in a large pot, add the pasta (no salt, butter, oil, anything else!) and wait 11 minutes. Remove from heat and drain. Place back to pot. If you will need more than 5 minutes to use it, then add 1/2 tbsp butter and toss around so it won’t stick.

Now, while pasta is cooking, place heavy cream, garlic and onion to simmer in a deep pot.

Image

Grab your cheeses. And preheat oven to 350°F.

Image

Shred the shreddables =)

Image

When cream is kind-of-hot, remove some tbsp to a separate cup and add flour.

Image

Stir and add back to the pot. Start whisking (remember, low heat).

Image

This will thicken the cream (sauce).

Image

Season with salt and pepper.

Image

Remove from heat and add cheeses. Whisk until well blended (and cheeses are melted) and add pasta.

Image

Toss around until all pasta is well covered with cheese sauce… yum!!!

Image

Place in cast iron skillet, srizzle cream on top and top with extra 2 oz cheddar cheese.

Image

Bake for 25 minutes, until cheese is melted and brown.

Let it sit for 5 minutes and serve!

Image

About Gaby Godoy de Porras

I'm a 27 years old housewife that loves to cook and try new recipes, as well as decor our home. I love to do makeovers to old furniture I get (my hubby loves it too!) and I get so excited when my ideas come true! I love to see other people's ideas come true too. I'm a total DIYer (I made almost every detail in my wedding).
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

