Barley & Veggies Soup


So, as autumn continues, so does my craving for soup, soup and more soup every day!!! And now, I made a barley soup with many veggies. And chicken stock. Pretty yum actually. And I have a confession to make. I have never tried before barley. As a grain u know? So I did and I liked it. IT’s definitely a keeper for my family. So here’s the recipe I made, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did still am.

I used:

  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cauliflower head, choped in florets
  • 3 celery sticks, chopped
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 3 carrots, chopped
  • 1 cup barley
  • 1.25 L organic chicken stock
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • salt and pepper

Chop the veggies.

In a deep pot, add olive oil and onion. Stir for around 3 minutes and add garlic. Stir.
Add celery and carrot. Stir for 5 minutes.
Add cauliflower and stir for 3 minutes.
Add chopped tomates and stir.
Season with salt and pepper.
Add chicken stock.
Add prewashed barley.
Stir.
Bring to a boil and lower heat. Simmer for 20 minutes. Remove from heat and let it sit for 10 extra minutes.
Serve and enjoy!!!
About Gaby Godoy de Porras

I'm a 27 years old housewife that loves to cook and try new recipes, as well as decor our home. I love to do makeovers to old furniture I get (my hubby loves it too!) and I get so excited when my ideas come true! I love to see other people's ideas come true too. I'm a total DIYer (I made almost every detail in my wedding).
This entry was posted in Good Eating, Light Food, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

