Cinnamon Rolls


I’ve been wanting to make this amazing recipe, these delicious rolls since many weeks ago… and I was afraid of the outcome. Why? Because I have never used yeast before. I was afraid to use it. And man, I had already bought it. I just didn´t want to use it, I don’t know. Weird me. Ok, let’s go to business. I checked many recipes and fell in love with Ree‘s, so I used it and halved it.

I used:

For the rolls
  • 500 mL whole milk
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 2.25 tsp active dry yeast 
  • 4 + 0.5 cups AP flour
  • 1 heaping tsp baking powder
  • 1 scant tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 heaping tbsp salt
  • 1 cup melted butter
  • 1/2 cup butter, cut in 1/2″ slices
  • 1 cup sugar
  • generous sprinkling of cinnamon
For the glaze
  • 2 lb (1 bag) powdered sugar
  • 2 tsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1/4 cup brewed coffee
  • 1/2 tsp salt

For the rolls
Place milk, olive oil, and sugar in a medium saucepan.

Place over medium heat to just below a boil.

Set aside and cool to warm -about an hour. Sprinkle the yeast on top and let it sit on the milk for 1 minute.

Add 4 cups flour.

Stir until just combined, cover with a clean kitchen towel, and set aside in a relatively warm place for 1 hour. 

Ok, the directions say that. My dough was not rising, so I left it in he fridge overnight. Is lifted a little bit more. Not quite doubled-sized. 

When ready to continue working, add baking powder…
Baking soda…

salt and remaining 1/2 cup flour….

Sprinkle flour in your working area.

Melt butter -1 cup.

Now, bring the dough to the floured area and start kneading, make a shape of an almost rectangle.

Roll it with a rolling pin until you can make it look more than a rectangle than I did.

Now, top with melted butter. Let it drop on the sides, it’s ok.

Use your clean fingers to distribute the butter on the top of the dough.

Add sugar -1cup.

Sprinkle lots of cinnamon. Look at that mess!!!! I love mess =)

Now, start rolling by the long side. Start from the far side of you to the near you =) I hope I explained it ok. Try to keep it thight.

Pinch the seams so the “log” is closed.

In an aluminium foil, place a square of butter.

Spread the butter all over!

And start cutting “slices” (1/2-1/4in) of the log and placing them in the foil. I olvy got two foils. The recipe calls for around 4, and circled (mine are rectangles) so I guess mine are bigger and have more rolls.

Let them rise for about 1.5 hours.

Heat oven to 375°F. Bake the for 15-18 minutes, until slightly golden.

For the glaze
In the meanwhile, in a large mixing bowl, add the glaze ingredients.

Whisk together until you get a thick sauce.

Remove the rolls from the oven. They look amazing, don’t they???

Now, top each rolls foil sheet with half the glaze.

And enjoy!!!

About Gaby Godoy de Porras

I'm a 27 years old housewife that loves to cook and try new recipes, as well as decor our home. I love to do makeovers to old furniture I get (my hubby loves it too!) and I get so excited when my ideas come true! I love to see other people's ideas come true too. I'm a total DIYer (I made almost every detail in my wedding).
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

