Crème brûlée {Creme Brulee}


Crème brûlée is one of my favorite desserts. Actually, I think it’s my favorite dessert. And after looking at so many recipes, I decided to go with Ree‘s. I made half the recipe and got 5 ramekins. Small sized. I’m so sorry for that. Why? Because it’s DELICIOUS! And I only got 5 of them. And ate two. Both yesterday.

I used:
  • 2 cups heavy cream (Lyncott)
  • 1/2 vanilla bean filling
  • 5 egg yolks
  • 3/8 cup + 5 tbsp sugar, divided

Start by preheating your oven to 325°F (160°C). Pour cream in a deep skillet,

Add vanilla. 

And the vanilla bean. And simmer over medium heat.

When it’s simmering and it’s warm, remove from heat and reserve. Let it cool a little bit.
 Pour the cream through a fine mesh strainer. I didn’t have one, so I placed two, one above the other one.

Separate the egg yolks from the whites. I broke two yolks, sorry.

Add the egg yolks to the mixing bowl and 3/8 cup of sugar. 
And whip.

Until they are pale yellow.

Now, while you whip at low-medium spped, start adding a little by little a 1 or 1/2 cup of warm cream in the egg yolks while you temper the yolks. To prevent them from cooking with the cream heat. And now you can add faster the rest of the cream. Keep whipping until you have a little foam on top.

I served it in a cup to handle it easier.

Place the ramekins in a baking tray. Ok, I placed six but only had enough cream for five. Pour cream into the ramekins.

Place them in the oven and fill the baking tray with water halfway to the middle of the ramekins.

Bake them for 30 minutes or until a little set. Remove with a large spatula from baking tray and let them cool for around 40 minutes. Place them in the fridge for around 3 hours until well set and cool.

Sorry, I ate one.

Now, turn on your oven broiler or prepare your torch. Sprinke 1 tbsp of sugar on each ramekin.

Place them in the tray again and place them on the higher part of the oven possible (near the broiler) and let them broil for around 2 minutes. Remove and spin/turn them a little (180°) for even browning.

Voilà!

They look … black? But they don’t taste burned… they taste amazing.

And of course… tap, tap, tap! And yum!
June 8th, 2012:
 I’m linking to Michelle’s Fabulous Friday Link Party 26
About Gaby Godoy de Porras

I'm a 27 years old housewife that loves to cook and try new recipes, as well as decor our home. I love to do makeovers to old furniture I get (my hubby loves it too!) and I get so excited when my ideas come true! I love to see other people's ideas come true too. I'm a total DIYer (I made almost every detail in my wedding).
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crème brûlée {Creme Brulee}

  1. Oh how I love creme brulee. This looks so wonderful. I've never tried the vanilla beans & I'm sure it makes a huge difference. You're such a great cook! Thanks so much for linking up on Fabulous Friday at Faith, Trust & Pixie Dust.

    Warmly, Michelle

  2. Thanks Michelle, for visiting and hosting the linky party =)
    It surely makes a great difference using the vanilla beans or paste…. =)

    Regards!

Leave a Reply

