Molletes con Queso {Toast with Refried Beans and Cheese}


Remember when I cooked in my terracota pot? Well, now I’m using the terracota dish. I had some leftovers from the Frijoles de Olla {Terracotta Pot Brothy Beans} I cooked some days ago. I went to Walmart and bought some French bread and prepared these beans to be spreadable. I made Refried beans. If you like beans and you love cheese, you will love these Molletes. And here comes the recipe.

I used:

  • 2 cups cooked beans (with liquid)
  • 1 chorizo (1/2 cup)
  • shredded cheese to taste
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1/2 jalapeño pepper (not in the picture)
  • 1 French bread 

First, chop the onion and throw it in terracota (or any) low heated skillet.

After 3-4 minutes, add finely chopped chile.

After 2-3 minutes, add chorizo (you can also use chopped bacon).

Stir and let cook for around 8 minutes.

When chorizo bacon is fully cooked, add beans.

Stir and let cook for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally. Place in blender and pulse until well blended.

Let them cook for around 5 minutes again.

Spread them on vertically-halved bread.

Top with shredded cheese and place in oven at 240°F for 10 minutes.

Yum!

About Gaby Godoy de Porras

I'm a 27 years old housewife that loves to cook and try new recipes, as well as decor our home. I love to do makeovers to old furniture I get (my hubby loves it too!) and I get so excited when my ideas come true! I love to see other people's ideas come true too. I'm a total DIYer (I made almost every detail in my wedding).
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Molletes con Queso {Toast with Refried Beans and Cheese}

  1. creo que eso cenaremos hoy, pero no tan sofisticados como los tuyos 😉

  2. Jajajaja ay Lety =) qué rico!!! Yum yum yum!

Leave a Reply

