Torta de Cochinita Pibil con Frijol Negro {Black Beans and Cochinita Sandwich}


Hello there, I’m sorry I haven’t been able to post lately… I’ve been so busy, and my mom went to surgery and then my hubby and I went for a quick roadtrip… but here I am. Ready to share with you this delicious recipe, and very easy to cook.
First, you will need:
  • 4 French bread pieces (or 8 bread slices if you prefer)
  • 1 package or can of refried (crushed) black beans
  • 1 package or can of cochinita pibil (roasted pork)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1 tbsp Knorr Instant Beef Mix (if you don’t have, you can use Seasoned Salt, but only 1/2 tbsp)
  • 1 tbsp pepper
  • 3 tbsp tomato puree

First, you need to heat a skillet, place the beans there and let them heat a little. Then, add the tomato puree, beef instant mix (or seasoned salt) and pepper. Blend well at low heat, stirring occasionally. I added 1/4 cup of regular water because the beans were very solid. 

Blend well and when they are ready, remove them from heat.

In a deep skillet add the package of cochinita pibil (or finely chopped roasted pork). This oneis already seasoned and ready, so I just had to heat it and stir. 

Now, cut the French bread in half horizontally, and in the lower part spread black beans (plenty, you won’t regret it). Then add plenty of cochinita pibil (roasted pork).

Now, place 3 tbsp of sour cream on top and place the other half of the bread on top.

OMG!! This is looking so good!! Yum. My husband decided to drink a beer with this delicious torta (sandwich).

Looking good right? He even asked me for half more for dinner, and one extra for tomorrow’s lunch!

Enjoy!
* December 4, 2011 update: 
I’m attending Michelle’s Linky Party 14 Grab My Button, and Grab My Button!!

December 6, 2011:
I’m attending Stacy’s Show Me What Ya Got #52 

About Gaby Godoy de Porras

I'm a 27 years old housewife that loves to cook and try new recipes, as well as decor our home. I love to do makeovers to old furniture I get (my hubby loves it too!) and I get so excited when my ideas come true! I love to see other people's ideas come true too. I'm a total DIYer (I made almost every detail in my wedding).
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Torta de Cochinita Pibil con Frijol Negro {Black Beans and Cochinita Sandwich}

  1. nat says:

    No puedo con este antojo!!!! voy a llegar a Mty. con la lengua llena de granitos hahaha sorry jajajaja….qué ricoooooo

  2. Anonymous says:

    Querida Gaby:
    En lugar de crema, la cochinita lleva cebolla morada preparada:
    Cebolla morada picada en cuadritos chicos. Dejarla reposar en el refri en una mezcla de vinagre con jugo de naranja agria (a falta de esta, el jugo de media naranja normal y un limón se parece mucho en sabor) y un poco de pimienta.
    Si te gusta el picante, añadir chile habanero picado.
    Verás que el sabor es super diferente. (Mucho mejor que con crema ¿eh?)
    Besos
    GHM

  3. It's my pleasure to feature this awesome recipe in my Fabulous Friday Favorites tonight. Thanks so much for sharing it! Feel free to take an “I Was Featured” button. And I'd love to see you again next Friday!

    Warmly, MIchelle

Leave a Reply

